Ramma Llama Ding Dong

Words are so much fun to say. Ok. Not all of them. You have to admit, you got a little satisfaction saying the title. There are goofy phrases that make us smile. There are some that you have to sing every time you see them such as:

Ooo eeee oooo aah aah ting tang walla walla bing bang. Ooo eee ooo ah ah ting tang walla walla bing bang!

I apologize if that song gets stuck in your head for the rest of the day. Ear worms are a nasty business. Alright, you caught me. I’m not terribly sorry as I will be singing it along with you and dancing like a deranged Muppet to boot.

giphy

Anywho, back to words that are fun to say. I was curious if other people were amused by certain ones so I asked a friend of mine. He said he enjoyed the word “phlegm”. I had to ask him why. He said and I quote, “I like the way it rolls off the tongue, so to speak”. Somehow I think he was referring to loogies as he knows that I abhor this particular bodily fluid of extreme nastiness. I can even see his mischievous grin as he typed that explanation.  He did go on to say he also enjoyed words that ended with the letter “y”. I was afraid to ask for an explanation. I pictured booger walls and snot bubbles even though none of those words have a solitary “y” in them.

mrun6n2

My favorite word to say is “emu”. I have been obsessed with this word ever since my mother read me one of those “A is for anteater” books when I was two or three. As I am sure you have surmised, “E” was for “Emu”. I am sure you are wondering why this word would be fun. It is mostly because I tend to say it as “Eeeeemuuuuu”. Your lips and jaw get to contort all silly like as you stretch out the word. It tickles me to no end.

When my little one was having issues saying words that began with the letter “F”, I decided that if I could make them more fun to say, she might get the hang of it faster. We did the usual “Fee Fi Fo Fum” which never failed to get a laugh. This was especially the case when accompanied by me taking large steps and chasing her throughout the house. The next word was “phooey”. I know that does not start with the letter “F” but she was two and the sound was what we were aiming for here. Of course, I once again stretched the word out until it became an exercise in extreme silliness. Massive giggles would ensure but want to know something? She learned how to say “F” sounds. Whatever works, right?

giphy1

Exercises in silliness are critical. Laugh lines are well earned. I try to inject as much silliness, shenanigans and general tomfoolery into my daily life as possible. Whether it is making up random words or having a light saber fight with my little one while wearing voice changing, Transformer helmets. I highly recommend doing this after dark and inside the house. Spatial awareness is extremely important. I will say it again, SPATIAL AWARENESS IS VERY IMPORTANT! I take it back. Don’t try that at home. I do not wish to be blamed for your toes looking like a pack of squished hotdogs after you kick the ever living dog snot out of your coffee table. Worse, I don’t wish your TV to go the way of Yoda and talk to you from the beyond, as in beyond your house as it is now residing at your local dump since a light saber went through the screen.

giphy2

Have you ever been so bored as a child that you played Frisbee in the house with those free AOL cds that came in the mail every single day? Ok, I am not talking to anyone under 30 here. Back when the internet was new in the age of we know what encyclopedias are, homes were spammed with these free trial cds. As we did not own a computer, they tended to collect on the coffee table. My brothers and I got really bored one rainy day while our mother was at work. I am not sure who’s bright idea it was to play Frisbee with these things.

Anywho, it did not take long for us to surmise that if thrown hard enough at the garage door, they would crack with a satisfying spray of iridescently colored shrapnel. The game turned into who could break the CD into the most pieces with one throw. It is a wonder how any of us did not put out an eye or cut our feet. The door stood up surprisingly well. If I tried that today I would be in the emergency room and a new television show would be inspired, “Dumb asses who try to recapture their weird childhood.” Not the best of titles but I bet that I would not be the only one to make an appearance.

c0b59858e9a3f951aebbfb4b86a70034

I remember this one time my brother got the bright idea to build a soapbox car. He wanted to race it down this big hill that went over a bridge to see how far up the other side he could get before losing momentum. Our poor mother was worried that he might actually pull it off and go flying off the bridge into the shallow creek below. She did admit to us years later that she thought it was as cool as we did.

My brother spent weeks on that thing. I am not sure where he got all of the wood from but every day he would have more. He scrounged around through junk piles and found wheels from two old tricycles. He never got around to building sides. He had a foot rest in the front and that was it. I asked him how he planned on steering the thing. He looked at me perplexed then looked at his homemade car. Finally, he said, I guess I will just lean which way I wish to go.  To this, I could only answer with a shrug of “okey dokey”.

He finally got his contraption ready. My mother had us follow him down with the car in case we had to carry him to the hospital. My poor mother. She was terribly pale as he got his car set up at the top of the hill. He sat down and turned to give her one of his famous laughs. One….two….three…he pushed off AND………………..

He rolled a whole two feet before all four wheels fell off! He slid further without the wheels then he did with them on! He laid back onto the board serving as his seat and laughed himself silly. My mother was so happy it failed that she couldn’t speak from laughing so hard.

b3e1ced971eb4bf318761a5c583f5850

When we were teenagers, there was a time we could not afford cable. My brothers and I rigged up a wacky series of wires to the old black and white 13 inch tv we found in the garage. After messing with the rabbit ears and getting the wires just right, we could pick up three of the local channels if the day was really clear. Most days, we could only get one and a half. The half would either have sound or a mix of picture and snow. On a few rare nights, the half channel was all we could get no matter how hard we tried to rearrange the wires.

One night, we were watching the half of a channel and the sound was gone. I cannot even remember what movie was on this night. The picture would go in and out unless we three stood just right. We eventually found the hot spot and held our positions. Since there was no sound available, we each took a character and made up conversation for them. I am sure you have watched “Whose Line is it anyway?” so you get the idea. It is a lot more fun than it sounds. This is a safe activity that I can recommend without damage to your toes or television.

Our mother came home during our game. As soon as she walked through the front door, the picture went out and all she saw was we three standing around a TV showing nothing but snow with us giggling madly. She stood there in shock for a moment before asking what in the world were we doing? We started to explain before we realized the picture was gone. This only caused us to laugh even harder at her puzzled expression.

If you are wondering what the point of this entire post is, well I hate to tell you that there was not one. It is one exercise in silliness and I took you along for the ride. I probably should have said that in the beginning. I knew there was something that I forgot to mention. I take that back. There was a point, extremely silliness and mindless entertainment. OK. I might have been the only one who was entertained while writing this. I guess if you hung in here with me this far, I owe you a parting gift.

Here you go…………

672f16bec1d08edcbd5872ff2ea434ce

Well, I saw the thing
A comin’ out of the sky
It had a one long horn
And a one big eye
I commenced to shakin’
And I said “oohwee
It looks like a Purple
People Eater to me”

It was a one-eyed, one-horned
Flyin’ Purple People Eater
One-eyed, one-horned
Flyin’ Purple People Eater
Sure looked strange to me
One eye

Well, he came down to earth
And he lit in a tree
I said, “Mister Purple People Eater,
Don’t eat me”
I heard him say
In a voice so gruff,
I wouldn’t eat you
Cause you’re so tough

It was a one-eyed, one-horned
Flyin’ Purple People Eater
One-eyed, one-horned
Flyin’ Purple People Eater
One-eyed, one-horned
Flyin’ purple people Eater
Sure looked strange to me
One horn

I said, “Mister Purple People Eater,
What’s your line?”
He said,
Eatin’ purple people,
And it sure is fine.
What is the reason
That you came to land
I wanna get a job
In a rock ‘n roll band

Well, bless my soul, rock ‘n roll
Flyin’ Purple People Eater
Pigeon-toed, under-growed
Flyin’ Purple People Eater
He wears short shorts
A friendly little People Eater
What a sight to see
Oooohhh
And then he swung from the tree
And he lit on the ground
And he started to rock,
A-really rockin’ around
It was a crazy ditty
With a swingin’ tune, singin’
Bop bapa loop a lap
A loom bam boom
Well, bless my soul rock ‘n roll
Flyin’ Purple People Eater
Pigeon-toed, under-growed
Flyin’ Purple People Eater
I like short shorts
A Flyin’ Purple People Eater
What a sight to see
Purple people

Well, he went on his way
And then what-a you know
I saw him last night
On a TV show
He was blowin’ it out,
Really knockin’ ’em dead
Playin’ rock ‘n roll music
Through the horn on his head
Boogie woogie

 

3 thoughts on “Ramma Llama Ding Dong”

Leave a Reply

