Oh, What a Pathetic Fool I Must Be

The following was written on December 21, 2014.  I found it in a collection that I had written by hand in an old journal.

Oh what a pathetic fool I must be.

Here I stand with my arms ever stretched out.

As I try to reach out, to conquer time, to conquer distance, to conquer doubt.

An ember, a small flame dares to shine.

Oh what a pathetic fool I must be.

Here I stand with a fire, burning brightly inside.

The Flames lick my being.

They wish to consume me.

Dare I allow it?

Oh what a pathetic fool I must be.

Here I stand searching the darkness.

Where is the one that lit this fire?

Where is the one who can quench this flame?

Oh what a pathetic fool I must be!

Here I stand reaching outward.

How long can I continue this way?

My arms grow heavy and tremble.

So much distance, so much time, so much doubt.

Oh what a pathetic fool I must be.

The fire that once consumed in delight grows cold.

There are no embers.

There was no light in the darkness.

Oh what a pathetic fool I must be.

Here I still stand with my arms stretched towards you.

My arms are so very tired.

I am so very cold.

Yet, here, I shall forever stand.

Oh, what a pathetic fool I must be!

 

 

Leave a Reply

